Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sandl_gw

Need picture of full camelia bush

SandL
19 years ago

I know this sounds silly, but could someone post me a picture of their full camelia bush? I have no idea how big these bushes get.

Also, what would be a good camelia bush to plant in a full shade area? I'm thinking of anything with pink blossoms. I have a large bed that I could plant it in. The bed presently is home to several bearded iris and a holly bush, both of which are doing great. I need plant names.

I've been thinking of planting hostas in this area too, but also wanted to plant something that flowered like a rose. Camelias seem to fit that bill.

Thanks!!

Heather

Comments (11)

• PeaBee4
    19 years ago

I'll post a picture on the Gallery to give you an idea.
    PB

• surftele
    19 years ago

HI,
    I am new to GardenWeb and just discovered the Camellia site. (Usually hang out in the tractor section) Anyway, I have 70, well, maybe 50 Cam. since Ivan came but I would love to post pics. I uploaded some to HP's site but can't get them here. Can you/someone help?

Thanks,
    Vic

• jenny_in_se_pa
    19 years ago

This is the one at my sister's house, which was there when she moved in and is probably about 40 - 50 years old:

{{gwi:503920}}

Closer view:
    {{gwi:514841}}

The flowers:
    {{gwi:503921}}

The fence is 6ft.

They are slow growers so it obviously took decades to get this size but it is gorgeous. We had no idea what it was when she first looked at the house in the spring before she moved in because the flowers were huge doubles and we just haven't seen anything like this planted up here, at least in any obvious spot. I had to go to the Name That Plant forum to ID what the heck it was! LOL