Return to the Camellia Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Camellia reticulata hybrids suited to Maryland?

Posted by greenguy1 z7 Maryland (My Page) on
Tue, Nov 2, 04 at 8:33

I'm a camellia novice, having gotten hooked after moving to a home where some were planted by the former owner (no labels, definitely sasanquas, appear similar to 'Setsugekka' in size color and form, very fragrant, one of them has a big branch that has sported to deep rose red flowers). I've planted a few more in the last two years - 'Shishigashira' and 'Jean May' for fall bloom, 'Moonlight Bay' and an unidentified red japonica propagated by a neighbor for spring.

I'm reading a lot about C. reticulata hybrids, and I'm wondering if they are suited to my zone 7b location in Annapolis, Maryland. If so, I'm interested in any recommendations for cultivars. I tend to like solid colors rather than variegated flowers, and am definitely partial to light, clear pinks - BUT, I will happily take recommendations on any and all varieties, because, you never know, I just might like it........

Thanks.

- Steve

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Camellia reticulata hybrids suited to Maryland?

Retics are more tender than Japonicas and Sasanquas. I would encourage you to get in touch with the members of the Camellia Society of the Potomac Valley, who are from your area and are all very knowledgeable and delighted to help, including Dr. William Ackerman who has been very active in experimenting with cold hardiness in different varieties and hybrids there in DC/Maryland. (See link below.) You are fortunate to be near them.

Here is a link that might be useful: Camellia Society of Potomac Valley

o

i have been growing several retic hybrids in central alabama and have been quite successful. the largest is a clear pink called 'lila naff'. its loaded with buds now, but usually blooms later in feb. i planted it as a small one gallon plant 12 years ago. it is over 10 ft tall and nearly as wide.

o