Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
forever_a_newbie_z8_va

Planting camellias close to the house?

Hi I'm new to camellia gardening and have a question.

We bought 10 camellias (mostly 5 gallons) plants the other day, mostly sasanquas and japonicas.

We planted 2 winter's stars, 1 bananza, 1 cleopatra and 1 april's kiss in front of the house. Now I'm not sure whether they are too close to the wall (about 2 feet) and will cause a problem to the foundation of the house?

Any ideas? Thank you very much in advance.

Changsong

Comments (7)

• sandy808
    16 years ago

I plant all my shrubs, both roses and camellias 5 to 6 feet from the foundation. You need air to circulate around each bush and your house.

• forever_a_newbie_VA8
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Rian: Thanks for the infomation and it makes me feel a little relived. Our house has brick wall.

Actually the two winter's star camellias we bought are espaliered plants with support in a flat form. We planted these two side by side 6 feet apart, 2 feet from the side wall. They do have more space but I don't want to move them too far away since that won't look too good.

The other 2 plants planting close to the wall are bonanza and april's kiss. We are going to move them as much as possible.

My husband already grined when I told him he would have to move the plants a little. I tried to convince him this is good for HIS house:)

• sandy808
    16 years ago

It's much easier to move the bushes when they are babies than when they grow up! Been there, done that! Plus there is always the risk that a transplanted bush might not recover.