Return to the Camellia Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
camellia sinensis fungus/dieback? Help!

Posted by JJGestapo 5 (My Page) on
Sat, Nov 9, 13 at 13:58

I'm new to growing camellia sinensis. I bough a baby plant a few months ago and decided to container plant it because its too cold where I live to leave it outside all winter. For the summer I let it stay outside, but then the green leaves started getting spots on them. In fall it bloomed, and had plenty of flowers on it.

Then the spots spread to all the leaves and I researched as much as I could on diseases, and decided it had a fungus that it caught from the outside environment. So I sprayed it, changed the top layer of soil, and brought it inside (its too cold for it outside now). It gets sunlight, but is in a cooler room of the house (like 65 ^F in there).

I noticed some of the shoots have dark stems, but I don't know if it is infected, dieing back, or what is happening. What can I do to protect it? What can I do to help it and get rid of the disease, or help boost its immune system? Is there a specific type of fungicide I should use?

Please, any help I would greatly appreciate it. I love my plant and I don't want it to die :( Thank you!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: camellia sinensis fungus/dieback? Help!

Hello, JJGestapo. Has it been stressed? Have you cut the camellia's leaves or stems at all since you bought it? What fungicide did you use to treat it? Is the soil kept evenly moist or does it have periods of wet/moistdry? Does water drain off easily? Does the pot have enough drainage holes at the bottom? Where did you get the plant from? Where are you located (in case it makes a difference?

Also, can you post photo of the entire plant and another one of one just one of the leaves so I can see some detail of the spots?

This post was edited by luis_pr on Fri, Nov 22, 13 at 16:09

o

Hello?

o