Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dsb22_gw

Formal double suitable for espalier

dsb22
12 years ago

Hi,

I'm new to camellias. We have a very small backyard with space for 3 at most. So I've spent the past few months visiting nurseries to see different varieties in person and reading old posts on here. I've narrowed down my criteria to the following, in order of importance... Can anyone suggest camellias that meet all or most of these?

1) good for espaliering

4) winter-spring bloom (the longer the better of course)

2) Rose-form or formal double blooms

3) any shade of pink

Thank you!

Deanna

Comments (8)

• User
    12 years ago

Dsb22,
    They use Sasanqua camellia for climbing on frame, what you wan to do.
    There aren't too many formal doubles in the Sasanqua group, but for a pretty white there is "Early Pearly",
    then there is "Mignonne", she is lavender pink. Small formal doubles.
    If you are open to semi doubles, there are hundreds to choose from.
    They are truly beautiful, they have them all over down here on the walls, right now it is gorgeous!

• luis_pr
    12 years ago

Sasanquas are good for espaliering because their stems are pliable but you can try japonicas knowing that their stems will be harder to bend as they get older. Camellia Tiffany has a pink peony-anemone form bloom; Extravaganza has pink blooms with white streaks in a anemone bloom form; Showa-no-sakae also has pink semi-double blooms with ruffled petals. Camellia Tomorrow has a strawberry color and has a semidouble to peony blooms. Camellia Pink Perfection is a pink formal double. Mathotiana gives pink rose-to-formal double blooms. The variegated version has white blotches scattered on the blooms. Please check the blooming time for these to see if that is ok with you.

• jay_7bsc
    12 years ago

Dear dsb22 z7 VA,