Return to the Camellia Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Pink Perfection or Nuccio's Cameo?

Posted by astphard 9a (My Page) on
Fri, Nov 9, 12 at 22:42

I love the color and form of Pink Perfection and Nuccio's Gem and want to know which way we should go. Some of the factors I'm considering are:

1) Length of blooming season?
2) Size?
3) Quantity of blooms?
4) Health?
5) Shade tolerance?
6) Drought tolerance?
7) Other factors I can't think of?

I'm new to camellias and would like to get one or two for our yard. They (it) would be planted about 20 feet away from a mature live oak tree. So there is shade, but the branches are quite high and they would get enough light for camellias (according to some yard people who have seen the location).

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Pink Perfection or Nuccio's Cameo?

I have both Pink Perfection and Debutante . Both are very nice. Sounds like you have a good place. Go for it. Camellias are very easy to grow. They are beautiful, but only bloom for a short time .

o

I'm no expert, but I was watching the camellia video from Erinon Nursery on YouTube the other day and he mentioned that most growers aren't growing pink perfection anymore because of healthy/vigor issues. Jerry recommended Nancy ?Lynn? on the video at 20:25. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LHNTWTK9BUk

Hope this helps,
Brad

o