Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rjlinva

Does anyone collect the older varieties?

rjlinva
14 years ago

Greetings. I'm new to camellias, but, I've gotten really interested in them, and I've started to collect some. I am especially drawn to the ancient varieties and older varieties.

Can you recommend some of the "must haves" for a good beginning collection?

Robert

Comments (7)

• jay_7bsc
    14 years ago

Robert,
    Are you thinking in terms of outdoor or greenhouse cultivation of camellias? If outdoor cultivation is what you have in mind, you will have to be mindful of a camellia variety's ability to perform satisfactorily in your climate zone. It's doubtful, for example, that 'Alba Plena,' which is cohsidered the oldest camellia in cultivation in Western gardens, would perform well in Zone 7. 'Alba Plena' blooms early, but the plant is susceptible to winter injury when exposed to low temperatures.

To get an idea of the old, standard varieties that were popular in the early to mid-twentieth century, I would advise you to consult Dr. H, Harold Humes' works on the genus _Camellia_: (1.) _Camellias: Kinds and Culture_ (New York: The Macmillan Company, 1951) and (2.) _Camellias in America_. Revised edition. (Harrisburg, PA: J. Horace McFarland Company, 1955). Hume's works are authoritative and lavishly illustrated. You'll find them in the collections of most research libraries and larger public libraries. They can also be purchased at modest cost from antiquarian book dealers on the Internet. The American Book Exchange (ABE) is a good place to find copies of these books available for sale (www.abe.com).

_Camellia Nomenclature_ and _The Supplement_ are essential resources for the identification of introductory dates of camellia cultivars, whether historic, antique, or recent. You can purchase copies from the Southern California Camellia Society.