Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
goldiemom_gw

Brown markings on leaf- help!

goldiemom
17 years ago

Please help...I noticed that many of the leaves on my camelia japonica (Kramer) have brown markings on most of the leaf. Is there something wrong with it? I am new to growing these. Thanks so much!

Here is a link that might be useful: {{gwi:516989}}

Comments (6)

• oath5
    17 years ago

Too much sun?

• goldiemom
    Original Author
    17 years ago

hmmm... well it's in semi-shade, so I don't think so. I have it planted near a tall wooden fence, and it gets some afternoon sun, but again, it's not full sun. ???

• luis_pr
    17 years ago

Merry Christmas, goldiemom! Although your picture is not clear enough to do a close-up scan, it looks like too much sun to me as well. Camellias planted in full sun or against a south orwest facing wall often get sunscald. The leaves on the side of the plant directly exposed to the sun will develop scorched or bronzed areas.

When that happens, leaf-spotting fungi sometimes also infect the scorched area of the leaves. Prevent sunscald by planting in a shadier location or by providing more shade than their present location currently does (use windbreaks made of burlap or canvas). The ideal location should provide either bright indirect light or morning sun.

Once the leaves have turned brown, they will not recover but they may take their time dropping down. For aesthethic reasons and to prevent fungal infection, some people remove them.

Did you recently (days?/couple of weeks?) plant this camellia or has it been in that location for some time? Some camellias suffer some sunscald now when their source of shade -say, a tree- loses its leaves in the winter.

Possibility #2: consider winter injury. Kramer's Supreme is borderline Zone 7. Most of the vendors that I checked classify it as Zone 8 and higher for outdoor use; the minority rated it Zone 7. A windbreak may help if this is the case.