Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cannahavana

New to Camellias, and confused...

cannahavana
19 years ago

I bought my first Camellia while on a trip to Myrtle Beach during Thanksgiving weekend. It is a C. japonica Tama No Ura, three gallon size, 3ft tall. My confusion is when is the best time to plant it? I am in zone 7a in the Tennessee valley. It is currently living in my kitchen in front of my french doors.

Do I plant now, or wait until spring?

TIA,

Rebecca

Comments (7)

• jeepers13
    19 years ago

Bah!
    Rebecca~
    I'm sorry that I can't help you with your question as I live so very far away.
    However, I've been dying for this specific camellia for a few months now and haven't been able to find a single source.
    Would you be so generous as to share with me where you purchased it? I'd be ever so grateful...
    James.

• cannahavana
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Hi James,

I bought it at True Blue Nursery located in Pawleys Island in South Carolina, just south of Myrtle Beach. They don't have a website or mail order. I came across them in the yellow pages while vacationing there and it is a wonderful nursery. I believe I bought it for around $20.

Good luck on your search!

Rebecca

• jeepers13
    19 years ago

Bummer! But thanks for the information, Rebecca. And congrats on your find. You will enjoy this camellia from everything I hear.
    James.

• CamelliaJim
    19 years ago

Rebecca: