Return to the Camellia Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Camelia - fertilize zone 10 ?-

Posted by BEJAY10 z10CA (My Page) on
Thu, Dec 2, 04 at 9:30

I'm new to camelias. These were planted about a year ago, have many buds now and the leaf structure looks good. When is the best time to fertilize them?

This is in coastal zone 10 So. Cal. area. When they were planted, they were under shade from an apricot tree. Since then, the tree has fallen and the camelias now find themselves next to a concrete block wall, facing south. So far they aren't showing any signs of shock, but am wondering if they may be too warm when summer comes.

Bejay

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Camelia - fertilize zone 10 ?-

• Posted by Ron_B USDA 8 WA (My Page) on
    Thu, Dec 2, 04 at 18:32

If they look good, they may not need to be fertilized. Sample your soil and have it tested.

o

Camellias facing a south wall in So. CA may not do well in extremely warm or hot weather mainly due to the reflected heat. It would help if you could provide some artificial shade such as shade-cloth during the hot summer months. The best time to begin fertilizing camellias is at the end of the blooming season, probably March for your area. One or two applications of a commercial fertilizer for acid loving plants would be adequate. Cotton seed meal is also good.

o

Thanks for the reply. They are doing well - but that wall may be a forthcoming problem next summer. I really hate to move them but perhaps now would be a better time if they need it.

I will wait to fertilize then until later this spring. Perhaps I worry needlessly, our summers can be quite cool and perhaps the reflected sun will not bother too much.

Bejay

o