Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bonniepunch

More Freecycle craziness!

bonniepunch
18 years ago

My pile of stuff to give away got to the point of overflowing, so I offered it up on Freecycle. It was like opening the gates to hell! Two people obviously looked up my number in the phone book and called me, most people assumed that by asking for it they could have everything and they'd be by shortly to pick it up. Umm... How about - "No"?

Some people got upset that I didn't reply to their demands (four emails from one person!), but I got over two hundred replies for all my stuff. I'm not going to answer all that! No way!! And I'm especially going to ignore people that are getting aggressive about it. So I waited out the gimme people and waited until someone asked nicely for particular items and they got them.

I've been using Freecycle for a couple of years, and I love it, but I am always surprised at how greedy some people are. I don't mean that wanting free stuff is bad (I'm firmly in the 'free stuff is great' camp), but some people are really expecting to get what you're offering and are getting upset if you don't give it to them! If I get something I can use for free I'm thrilled, but I'd never expect or demand it!

The Montreal group has over 7000 (yes, thousand!) members, so the chances of any one person getting any particular item isn't great. I guess that's why people have gotten agressive. But some people are just plain crazy!

Oh well - I won't let a few idiots stop me from using a great service. I'll just rant about them ;-)

BP

Comments (4)

• peatpod
    18 years ago