Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
renouf_gw

Help with landscaping

Renouf
13 years ago

Hello everybody, I am building a new house and will need to landscape the front, which right now, is a blank canvass. I live in Nova Scotia, and am on the cusp between zones 6a and 5b.

I like easy to maintain flowering bushes and trees and perrenials, with a few annuals in for some punch. I'm just getting started with gardening, and for this first year, would like to establish a good foundation that I can add to over the years.

I love the look of lilac, oleander trees, and burning bushes espicially. My house is a saltbox style, with a large yard. Sun rises at the front of the house, and passes over the roof at noon, setting in the back of the house.

I would welcome suggestions!

Comments (6)

• ianna
    13 years ago

renouf,

welcome to the form. I would suggest simply plotting on paper you plans and where you would like to put in foot paths, set up privacy trees, or would like to frame the view. If you stood by your window looking out - ask yourself what you would like to see there. Then set about a plan. You can put in a rose garden, a hydrangea garden, maybe some garden feature. By your front door, define the pathway from the front door to the driveway. Do you want low growing shrubs just ouside the windows? Do you want low evergreen shrubs flanking the entrance. Do you see yourself as formal garden fellow or a casual type gardener.

Oleanders are tropical trees but I get the idea of the kinds of look you want. Lilacs bloom in spring. That means you may want yet another tree or shrub to show blooms during summer. For this I suggest you look into hardy hydrangeas and rhododendrons. Rhodos are great in semi shade locations. There are a huge variety of hardy hydrangea - check them out. I heard there's a great rhododendron society in the east coast so I know these do well in your area.