Return to the Gardening in Canada Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
I think its a fungus

Posted by djunor (My Page) on
Thu, Jan 11, 07 at 12:59

Is anyone famalier with thats growing on my plant. The plant is a gardenia. Whatever it is has started to grow on the underside of my hibiscus` leaves too.

I kept them both outside for the summer, if that helps in anyway diagnosing the problem.

I'de hate for this to be something common, and I'm just over reacting. I'm fairly new to gardening.

Thanks in advance.
Damien

Here is a link that might be useful: Pics of the gardenia

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: I think its a fungus

Mealy bugs, give your plant a good bath and then spray with a soap insecticide as well. Keep on top of them, they are really hard to get rid of.

Sharon

o

• Posted by jroot 5A Ont. Canada (My Page) on
    Thu, Jan 11, 07 at 16:37

I agree with crazy_gardener. It is definitely mealy bugs.

Give them a good bath means immerse them into a tub of water for about 10 minutes, or at least give them a good shower, and then let it drain. Squish as many as you can with your fingers. They won't hurt you at all. Then, give them a good spray, and then again the next week, and again the next week. When they get lower in number, you can dab them with rubbing alcohol straight from the bottle. You may find the mature bugs jump from plant to plant. Keep on top of it.

I had a bad batch a couple of years ago on my oleander, but they survived, and now they are fine.

o

Thanks alot, I'll get right on that

Damien

o

Oh - wow! That's about the worst case of mealies I've ever seen! They must love gardenias! :-)

It can be hard to rinse the cottony stuff off sometimes, so if you have an old toothbrush lying around, you could dip that in soapy water and use that to gently scrub them off.