Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
saturn99_gw

Can anyone suggest a course of action?

Saturn99
11 years ago

Hi, I'm a newbie to gardening and to this site thanks to all that have made this site possible for people like me.

My request has to do with the Pachira aquatica, "Money Tree", I know there are thousands of posts relating to this plant type however I just need some help identifying what the issue is as (I don't think it is root rot) and from that point any recommendation on how to move forward would be greatly appreciated.

I've had this plant for about 2 years now and prior to repotting it was looking fabulous, repotted so that I could give it a bigger pot. I changed the soil and ever since then it has been downhill. Soil I used was from Home Depot (Scotts
Scotts Premium Potting Mix) i've been careful not to water it too much.

I love this plant and want to do my best in helping it out.

Any help would be much appreciated. i've posted some pics for reference.

Thanks

rick

Comments (10)

• Saturn99
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Here's another pic of what it looks like. Currently I have unpotted it and was going to buy new soil.

Thank you.

• marricgardens
    11 years ago

Try posting this on the Houseplant forum.

• ianna
    11 years ago

I have this plant. The roots look quite dry and distressed. It seems it may have suffered from transplant shock. At this stage I am not sure if it can survive but you can still try.

First - don't uproot it anymore.

Do not fertilize any newly transplanted plant. This is because it won't be able to absorb the fertilizer and second that fertilizer can burn the plant.

Try cutting back the branches by 2/3. The plant has way too big a crown at this time to be supported. Your plant is dying of thirst and cannot absorb any water from it's damaged roots.

Do not subject the plant to strong sunlight. (indirect sunlight or florescent lighting is okay)