Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
amy_macinnis_crozier

Help me design a front planter

Liz
11 years ago

I am a novice when it comes to gardening. I have planted small planters and some veggies over the years but never really new how design a space. I have the time just not the knowledge. We built a new house last year and have a front planter. The house is grey and faces East. The planter is against the house with nice stone work behind the planter and an aggregate walkway path infornt. The area is 20feet long and 9 feet deep for 8 feet and 6 feet deep for 12 feet. It has a rounded corner. The short side is beside stairs.

What are you favourite plants? What are some tips on designing the space. I want a low maintenance garden because I live on acreage and have lots of work. How do you pick want plants work together? Any rules to follow?The driveway pad and house are on the bigger scale side does this effect the plants I pick?

Comments (8)

• marricgardens
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

There are lots of choices for plants, just decide what you would like in the flower bed. Can you post a picture of the flowerbed? I do better when actually seeing what there is to work with. Sounds like it will be a fairly big flowerbed. As far as plants go you should decide if you want annuals or perennials. A mixture of those would be nice, larger perennials with some colorful annuals planted among them. Some shrubs would look nice in there against the grey house. Ornamental grasses might look nice to. They are drought hardy and sway in the wind. Since you have an eastern exposure you would need drought tolerant plants. That's also what I have to work with. Is there a patio around it? If so the sun will heat not only the house (brick?) but also the patio around the flowerbed. When I chose plants, I looked at rock garden plants. Evergreens didn't do well for me, to hot plus we get strong winds here and that dried them out to. You'll get lots of good advice here.