Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nursekathleen

Costco Bulbs - yay or nay?

nursekathleen
15 years ago

I am VERY new to gardening as we just purchased a home. I am trying (Ha, ha) to duplicate - or at least simulate - a spectacular garden I spied up in Northern Michigan last year. I am trying to keep it simple - it was comprised mostly of Purple Coneflower, Russian Sage, Astilbe, Hostas, some Asiatic Lilies thrown in - plus a couple of splotches of annuals like Petunias and Impatiens for some pizzaz. I am trying to keep the number of Annuals down as they are - as they say - annual ;) and need to be replaced.

The prices of most of the perennials are scaring me - but I figure I'll work at it, a bit at a time.

So yesterday I spied bags of bulbs at Costco. Last fall I put over 120 bulbs of pastel tulips and daffodils in my front garden. It was surprisingly easy and I covered them with vermin mesh to keep the marauding squirrels at bay. I can't WAIT til they sprout - they'd better!!! lol.

So. The bulbs at Costco include exactly what I am after - Asiatic Lilies, Astilbe, and a few hostas. I am eyeing the Lilies and the Astilbe - I only want a couple hostas so am going to splurge on the mature variety. But what about the Lilies and Astilbe? I know they will NOT be spectacular the first year, but when do you plant these, when will they sprout, what do I do to care for them etc.

They are very cost effective - 14 Astilbe bulbs for $13, as opposed to ONE Astilbe for like $10 at the nursery. The advantage however being that it is already grown.

Opinions? Many thanks in advance!

Comments (16)

• kanuk
    15 years ago

If they are carrying varieties that you like my opinion would be 'yes' because the price is quite good in comparison to what you would pay elsewhere.
    You seem to already have a good idea what you want to plant and where so my advice would be to get what you can at this price and anything else you can find somewhere else to fill your needs.