Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hillarymontana

Brand New Gardener - Questions

HillaryMontana
9 years ago

Hi there,

I hope to start an organic vegetable garden in my backyard in Halton Hills, Ontario. I have grown a few plants in pots before but other than that, I am very new to gardening.

I'm looking for some recommendations for books to get me started. I have a copy of 'Country Wisdom & Know How', which has a fairly large gardening section, but it has many articles from different authors', sometimes with conflicting info. Also, it isn't a beginners guide, so its a little overwhelming. So far I've read that the 'Reader's Digest Guide to Green Gardening' and 'Gardening for Geeks' are both good books, but not sure if they're for beginners. Any recommendations?

Since its almost April, is it too late for me to start my garden this summer? I am starting from scratch - both in terms of my space - a grassy backyard, and my experience level - slim-to-none. I have read lots about pH and acidity and how necessary determining the type of soil I will be growing in is, so I'm wondering if I will have time, after checking and regulating the soil (if need be), to start the garden this year? I am thinking it might be best to do lots of research this summer, get seeds and equipment, and start next summer.

Feel free to correct me - I am super new! Any info and advice is welcome.

Thank you in advance

Comments (10)

• jayhvaghela
    9 years ago

You are not late at all.

I have not read any book but there are many ideas available online.

My experience, but others can disagree, 1/3 Buy compost from the recycle center, 1/3 peatmoss, 1/3 black garden soil. That works best for me, I have even tried buying best quality triple mix from nursery center but it was okey and was not weed free. You can aslo buy soil in bulk for many providers.

Flowers: