Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
joanne77_gw

where do i find the seeds from pansies?

joanne77
18 years ago

I have purchased a new type of pansy seed called antique shades. I was wondering if anyone would know if i can save the seeds from these plants, or do they go to seed? If so,where would they be on the plant? I would like to save the seeds off of them if it's possible. Any help would be appreciated as I am new at planting flowers. thanks

Comments (8)

• northspruce
    18 years ago

I don't know of any pansies that don't produce seed, although the seed might not look like the original flower due to cross-pollination.

When the flower is done and dries up, you will see a little green lump like three bumps stuck together with a spike sticking out the middle. Leave this alone, it is developing seeds. When it is totally dried out and not green anymore, pick the pod and you should find some small brown seeds inside. If you don't see the green pod when the flower is done, it might not have set seed for whatever reason. Have fun with your new garden.

• merricat
    18 years ago

Spruce, *when* do you get those pods? I try to keep an eye on my pansies and get the seedpods when they're set, but 90% of the time they're already open...and, as you know, they don't "drop" seed, they PTUI! them out like a Sunflower Seed Spittin' Champion! They make my Petunia seedpods look downright lazy.

Oh, well...at least I'll get another chance this year, when the little pansy-babies come up again.

• northspruce
    18 years ago

Hmmm I guess they do burst open - I know I have harvested seeds from Pansies and Violas before. Must have got there just in time. Even if they have burst, you could still look to see if there's anything left inside... otherwise you could wait until the scattered seeds sprout next year and transplant as necessary.

• tiffy_z5_6_can
    18 years ago