Return to the Gardening in Canada Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Starting seeds?

Posted by gailtoronto Ontario (My Page) on
Fri, Mar 27, 09 at 17:51

Hi, due to money constraints this year I have decided to start my herbs/vegetables and some annuals from seed. This is my first time doing this .... my questions are:

1. I have all that's necessary to start my seeds (bought a McKenzies Seed Tray with pellets in) - is it too early or not?
2. When is it safe to plant seedlings outside?
3. Last year I had a problem with tiny slugs eating my tomatoes .... how can I stop this? They ate right through the tomatoes and then of course it would rot from the inside. Quite frustrating for a beginner vegetable gardener.

So far I'll be planting: Sweet Basil, Rosemary, Cilantro, Thyme, Peas, Tomatoes and Lettuce

Thanks for your help - after this harsh winter I am rearing to go in my garden.

Gail

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Starting seeds?

Hi Gail,
Are you aware of the planting procedure known as winter sowing? In my opinion, this is the easiest....and cheapest way to get oodles, and oodles of herbs, veggies, annuals and perennials!!!!!! I will add the link to the wintersowing forum here on gardenweb. Please check out the FAQ and look at the gallery for photos of just what wintersown is...also...do a search for wintersown containers to see it all. This is a very, very, very unusual way to garden.

If you go the wintersown technique you will
1.plant your seeds now
2.put them outside to germinate in your trays and whatever other container you want to use.
3.my suggestion for growing your tomatoes is to let them grow up onto a trellis or make a tepee from 3 sticks or twigs and tie them up to this support to get the tomatoes up and off the ground.

Go garden and have fun!

ps. we have a newer forum titled "wintersowing in canada forum" too, but I could only add a Link for one site, the original forum ...check out both of them.

Here is a link that might be useful: wintersowing

o