Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
user1234_gw

Mixed Hedge

user1234
14 years ago

I am planning a long stretch of privacy hedge. I would like to use Lilac, Siberian Peashrub and possibly Dogwood. From what I understand Lilac and the Peashrub go well together. Any suggestions on the Dogwood? Also, any suggestions on mixing them up (ie not alternating between the three)?

I am new to gardening, so any tips are welcome!

Thank you.

Comments (5)

• ianna
    14 years ago

Mix hedging is great.

Just remember that when winter comes along many of the regular plants will shed their leaves and so all you will see are their bare branches.

So materials to consider:

Shrub Roses
    Dogwood cream and cracker
    Beech
    Korean Lilac, Miss Kim
    Rhododendrons
    Limelight hydrangeas
    fruit trees like pears, apples or cherries which have been pleached or cordoned.

And just in case you wish to include evergreens

cedars
    yews
    hollies

• Hiccups4
    12 years ago

I know it's been 2 years but did you plant your privacy hedge? Did you incorporate evergreens? Ianna-do you have any suggestions for the hedge plan? Thanks so much

• ianna
    12 years ago

Hiccups.

Just saw this. Did you mean hedge plans.. or plants?

If you have to create a long privacy fence, I would suggest a mix of hedging materials to just break up the monotony of green. That is you can incorporate evergreen such as: emerald cedar, yews and hollies. You may even consider adding beech to the group because they do not shed their leaves until spring. They do hang on to their brown leaves when they go into winter dormancy which creates a visual interest in winter.