Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
summerf_gw

Sunflowers and Tulips

summerf
18 years ago

Hi, I live in Halifax, Nova Scotia and today my 5 year-old grandaughter asked me to plant sunflowers for her this summer. I have never done this before and I need help. Do I plant sunflowers seeds or transplants and what kind of soil/fertilizer do they need. Also she wants me to plant some tulips. Is it too late to do this? Can you only plant tulip bulbs in the fall for the following summer or can I plant them this spring and have them for the summer or the fall. I would appreciate any help you can give me. I have to keep this little gem happy. Thanks.

Comments (10)

• ian_bc_north
    18 years ago

You have email
    Ian

• bonniepunch
    18 years ago

Just go to Canadian Tire or any other store that sells seeds and pick up a pack of seeds - they should have several sorts to chose from. You can get big huge and tall, fancy red colours, cute and tiny, and all kinds of sorts in between.

Sunflowers are really easy to grow - they're a good kid plant. The easiest thing to do, without getting into any kind of fancy special light set-up, is to take a yogurt container or styrofoam cup (or anything like that) and some seed starting soil mix that you can also get at Canadian Tire ($5 will buy you a bag with more than you'll need). Make sure you've poked a hole or two in the container! Around the second week of May, fill your container(s) with the soil mix, water it well, and poke a seed into the soil, about 1/2 inch deep.

Don't let the container dry out, but don't keep it soaking wet either. In a week or two at most, you should see something poking above the soil. Sometimes the seed husk gets stuck over the first leaves - that's not really a problem, and you can leave it alone. The plant will sort itself out, and you may break it if you fiddle with it.