Return to the Gardening in Canada Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Good fall blooming Perennials?

Posted by LilacIsLove 5a (My Page) on
Sun, Apr 24, 11 at 9:22

Hi!
I just joined the forum and I'm also new to gardening so I have a few questions.
Firstly though, everything in my garden tends to be spring blooming. There's a nice show until about mid June, and then it's over. Are there any good summer/fall perennials that you guys would suggest? Preferably for smaller gardens.
Thanks!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Good fall blooming Perennials?

• Posted by marric Z5a Ontario (My Page) on
    Sun, Apr 24, 11 at 10:09

Here are a few that I really like.
Rudbeckias: Goldsturm is a perennial but there are lots of annual varieties out there, my favorite is Prairie Sun, the annuals do tend to reseed tho.
Phlox: Go with the mildew resistant varieties. I have Miss Pepper (pink), and Nora Leigh, variegated foliage white flowers with a pink eye.
Monarda/Bee Balm: Go with the mildew resistant varieties. I have Jacob Kline, red, and Scorpion, mauve.
Sedum: I have an older variety I think is called Luxuriant. About 1' tall, flat pink flowers that attract butterflies.
Ornamental Grasses: lotas to choose from.
Asters
I'm sure there are lots more. And don't forget the shrubs. Hydrangeas are beautiful. Hope this gives you some ideas. Marg

o

Thanks for the suggestions! I love Phlox, and I managed to get some bee balm from a plant exchange just a few days ago. I didn't realize it was a fall bloomer.

o

Eupatorium / Joe Pye Weed
Nepeta (will bloom until frost if you shear it back after the first flush)
Solidago / Goldenrod (there are some really nice named varieties out there)
Tall coreopsis or coreopsis grandiflora will bloom until frost if you deadhead or cut back after the first flush
Physostegia / Obedient Plant blooms late summer into fall
Hardy mums. All very vigorous fall bloomers
Veronicastrum / Culvers Root
Chelone / Turtlehead
Ligularia

o