Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lilacislove

Good fall blooming Perennials?

LilacIsLove
12 years ago

Hi!

I just joined the forum and I'm also new to gardening so I have a few questions.

Firstly though, everything in my garden tends to be spring blooming. There's a nice show until about mid June, and then it's over. Are there any good summer/fall perennials that you guys would suggest? Preferably for smaller gardens.

Thanks!

Comments (10)

• marricgardens
    12 years ago

Here are a few that I really like.
    Rudbeckias: Goldsturm is a perennial but there are lots of annual varieties out there, my favorite is Prairie Sun, the annuals do tend to reseed tho.
    Phlox: Go with the mildew resistant varieties. I have Miss Pepper (pink), and Nora Leigh, variegated foliage white flowers with a pink eye.
    Monarda/Bee Balm: Go with the mildew resistant varieties. I have Jacob Kline, red, and Scorpion, mauve.
    Sedum: I have an older variety I think is called Luxuriant. About 1' tall, flat pink flowers that attract butterflies.
    Ornamental Grasses: lotas to choose from.
    Asters
    I'm sure there are lots more. And don't forget the shrubs. Hydrangeas are beautiful. Hope this gives you some ideas. Marg

• LilacIsLove
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Thanks for the suggestions! I love Phlox, and I managed to get some bee balm from a plant exchange just a few days ago. I didn't realize it was a fall bloomer.

• bev_w
    12 years ago

Eupatorium / Joe Pye Weed
    Nepeta (will bloom until frost if you shear it back after the first flush)
    Solidago / Goldenrod (there are some really nice named varieties out there)
    Tall coreopsis or coreopsis grandiflora will bloom until frost if you deadhead or cut back after the first flush
    Physostegia / Obedient Plant blooms late summer into fall
    Hardy mums. All very vigorous fall bloomers
    Veronicastrum / Culvers Root
    Chelone / Turtlehead
    Ligularia

• ianna
    12 years ago