Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tambo747

just a funny discovery in an amateurs' garden!

tambo747
15 years ago

I thought some of you would enjoy this!

I had planted tulips along a back corner of my house and they bloomed beautifully last spring. I had received black eyed susans from dads garden and purchased Gaillardia last fall so I dug up all the tulips and planted what I imagined to be beautiful display of orange, red, and yellow susans and Gaill's this summer.

A few weeks ago I was out looking for any sign of growth in that area (I'm new to gardening and very impatient!), only to discover a tulip coming up. I laughed and assumed I had missed a bulb. I left it there to grow. Each day after, I went out to observe this area, only to find more tulips popping out. The more I saw, the harder I laughed (what else can one do?). I have 3 tulips actually growing up smack in the middle of a black eyed susan plant!!! As of today, I have counted 42 tulips along a 6x2 bed. To my surprise this morning, I have a lovely little asiatic lily that decided to join the party!!!

Like I said, I am new to gardening, but I laugh at the thought that even the most amateur of amateurs wouldn't miss over 40 tulip bulbs!!!

I'm not sure if I should transplant them as they won't like the water needs of the other plants I am "trying" to grow there.

Anyhow, here's to a new gardening season, from an amatuer with a bit more experience than last year!

Happy gardening :)

Tammy

Comments (3)

• ianna
    15 years ago

Tammy, Your experience is something we gardeners experience every spring. I can feel your enthusiasm and it's addictive really... So although you've been at it for a year, welcome to the world of excitement in gardening. It's the surprise factor...and it's indeed funny and exciting... It's like you tackled an abstract art painting not quite sure what you'll be coming up with and the results are surprising.