Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
quirkybec

Fruit trees for zone 4

quirkybec
16 years ago

Hi everyone, I really hope there's someone out there that can help me. I am new to Gardenweb and not sure what's the best forum to use but here goes.

I am looking for a sour cherry and possibly a plum or apricot for my zone 4 garden. For the cherry I am leaning towards Carmine Jewel, although maybe a Romance series would be good (not readily available near me though). Worried that the Carmine Jewel will be more bushy than small tree.

For the apricot thinking Morden 604 or Scout but don't know which is best. Will they tolerate slight clay if on plum rootstock? Only want one, not thinking will be a problem, even if fruit production will be slightly lower.

For the plum, confused as to which will give the best fruit, would like to be able to eat fresh as well as for preserves. Considering Mont Royal or Damas Blue but have no idea really.

Other consideration: would like to have staggered harvests (i.e. cherry, apricot, plum not all ready at same time)- frightened of being overloaded! Think this is perfectly feasible.

My hubby is concerned about rotting fallen fruit and pests, but I think he is remembering a huge neglected apple of his childhood.

One last question, I have an ornamental cherry (I believe it is a prunus padus colorata) growing very well near by, is this any indication that the site wil be good for the other trees?

If anyone has any advice, I would be very grateful.

Comments (10)

• bonniepunch
    16 years ago

If you're in the Montreal area, I would recommend dropping by this place: Jardin Jasmin. Their staff is quite knowledgeable and they have a huge selection. Even if you're not in the area, click on the fruits you are interested in and you'll see info like fruiting time, height, soil preferences and zones(the info is in French though, they have been 'working' on the English for over three years now :-)).