Return to the Gardening in Canada Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
planting morning glory late in the season?

Posted by lexmark_2008 (My Page) on
Sun, May 18, 08 at 0:14

hello everyone, i live in quebec and i wanted to start planting morning glory seeds but im not sure if its too late in the season and if I would just be wasting my time...

most of the seeds would be planted in poor soil conditions with alot of grass but i read that this wouldn't be much of a problem if i use a bit of fertilizer... is this true?

i'm a complete gardening noob so any help on growing these beatiful vines is always welcome, thank you for reading!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: planting morning glory late in the season?

Not too early..it's been so cold! I have some seedlings just popping up now from the vines I had last year, in all the wrong places, of course.
Don't worry about the fertilizer. If you can plant them with a bit of triple mix or potting soil, they'll do fine. Fertilizing them, in my experience, results in lots of leaves, but not a lot of flowers.
Wendy

o

I agree with Wendy! Avoid fertilizer and also avoid potting soil with the fertilizer mixed in. They really don't enjoy this cold weather anyway. I started mine indoors but it is still too cold to set them out as far as I am concerned. Go for it! You have nothing to lose except the $1.99 worth of seeds maybe.

o

• Posted by kanuk Zone4 QC (My Page) on
    Fri, May 23, 08 at 8:36

I'm in Quebec also. I planted my seeds on May 14th and on May 20th I had sprouts out on two 'Evening Glory Ipomoea'(Moonflower). I'm still waiting to see any sprouts from Heavenly Blue & Blue Star.