Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tamanna_gw

Move plants out yet

tamanna
15 years ago

Hi there,

I have a jasmine sambac and a tropical hibiscus, I was wondering if I could move them out to my back yard or is it too early. After searching on the net, I understand that 15 celcius is the minimum temp these plants can tolerate. These days the highs are pretty warm but I am a bit concerned about the nights. I was really curious to know what people in my or similar zones do? I am quite lazy to move them in and out every day so can I just leave them out and covered in a clear bag or is it better to wait?

Comments (4)

• ianna
    15 years ago

Well, I understand that we will have another cold spell. I'd say wait till June before setting them out and when you are ready, harden them first before putting them out all day. By the way, best keep these plants on a covered porch.,

• tamanna
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Great, thanks for the advice ianna. I can't wait till I can take the plants out. I have another question. I think you had answered one of my previous question regarding buying hardy shrubs in another form. I stepped into a nursery and couldn't resist picking up two plants that I found. One is a bleeding heart and the other is a creeping sedum. The lables said that they were both perennials, would you be able to advise me if I can just put mulch arround them and leave them in the ground for winter or do they need and special winter care? The lables gave planting instruction but no info on how to take care of them in winter. Thanks again for your help!!

• bonniepunch
    15 years ago

I have a couple of cultivars of Jasmine and a huge 6' tall tropical Hibiscus.