Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tc2013_gw

what should I plant

tc2013
10 years ago

Let me start by saying that I'm a newbie when it comes to gardening. We have a chain link fence in the backyard and I want to add a small tree/large bush (10 ft to 25 ft tall) for privacy. I do want something that is low maintenance and that will not attract bees or bugs. I have a Katsura tree and I love it. I can't add another big tree since its a small yard. I have seen 'golden vicary privet ' in the neighbourhood but after doing some reading, have crossed it out since the flowers seem to attract bees and they have an unpleasant odour. I was at the nursery yesterday and saw a few that I thought might work.
ServiceBerry bush (not sure if will be dense enough for privacy)
Little Moses Burning Bush (not sure if it will be tall enough since the tag said that it will grow to be only 3-4 ft tall)
Amur Maple Flame (I loved this one but I'm not sure if it will become too big for that area)

Any suggestions on which of the above or any other plants I can consider?

I have attached a pic of my backyard. I'd like the new bush/tree to go on the left of the rock)

Thanks!

This post was edited by tc2013 on Fri, May 17, 13 at 16:15

Comments (7)

• douglasont
    10 years ago

Hi: Nice spot. Have you looked at Ginkgo varieties? I love them because they are interesting and sculptural, they have the neatest leaves and the leaf canopy never get really dense for many many years. Kids can get very interested in these relatives of prehistoric trees the dinosaurs knew.Use google images and have a look. Make sure your nursery gets you a male tree as the female tree produces fruit that really smells bad. A good nursery will know this and usually they only carry male trees. Good Luck. D

• desertrose147
    10 years ago