Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ontnative

Does anyone grow Hemerocallis 'CORKY'?

ontnative
13 years ago

Does anyone know a commercial source of Hemerocallis (daylily) 'Corky', preferably in southern Ontario, or is anyone out there willing to trade me a couple of fans? It is a fairly tall yellow-gold with near-black stems, developed, I believe, in the UK.

Comments (9)

• marricgardens
    13 years ago

I checked and Heritage Perennials does have it. If you can find a nursery near you that sells HP (blue pots), they either have it or can get it in for you. Hope this helps. Marg

• ontnative
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Thanks, Marg. Since I posted, I see that Marjorie Mason (now Mason House Gardens) in Uxbridge, is advertising 'Corky', so I may try her. If one of my local nurseries retails Heritage plants, but not the one I want, do I just ask them to order the specific one I would like? I've never done this before.

• marricgardens
    13 years ago

When I want a specific plant, I just ask them if they can get it in for me. They are always glad to do it if they don't have it in stock.

• ontnative
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Thanks, Marg. I'll have to try it. Now what else have I been looking for that I can't find in the nurseries. . . .?

• ontnative
    Original Author
    13 years ago

I was at a roadside sale area of perennials south of Guelph yesterday and think I found 'Corky' mislabelled as 'Bitsy'. It has the brown colour on the back of the flower, the correct flower shape, size and colour, dark stems, etc. Not only that, it was on sale for $3. The sale area (next to a busy highway) was a mess, pots loaded with weeds, labels almost non-existant, so I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. They had tons of potted roses and hostas, as well as daylilies, mostly older varieties.

• swontgirl_z5a
    13 years ago

Was this near Aberfoyle? I would also like to get Corky but don't know if I can get down there this week.

• ontnative