Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ravel30

Content of McKenzie Seeds Mix

ravel30
14 years ago

Dear all,

This is my first posting here. I am still fairly new at gardening and so far I learned quite a lot by coming on this forum.

This season, I am trying very hard to attract butterflies in my backyard. Among other things, I purchased a pack of the Butterfly Garden McKenzie Seeds mix number number 100780. I am very curious to know what will grow out of this and I did a lot of research to find out. Unfortunately, I haven't found anything.

I was wondering if anyone here could help ? Did anyone here sowed seeds from that package before ?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Ravel30

Comments (10)

• oilpainter
    14 years ago

I don't know exactly what is in your package, but here are some of the more common annuals that attract butterflies. I'll bet some of them are in your mix.

Alyssum,cosmos,nicotiana,four o'clocks,nasturtium, salvia,zinnia

Nicotiana and salvia will attract humming birds too if they are in the red spectrum

• ianna
    14 years ago

I am suspecting you have an annual mix but I cannot be sure. it's probably loaded with the above mentioned plant seeds and possibly poppies.

If you want a perennial yard that will attract butterflies, plant the following:

Purple Coneflowers (Echinacea) - reseeds

Coreopsis

Bee balm (spreads a bit so be careful)

Butterfly bush (expensive to buy but you can easily grow this from seed)

Rudbeckia (Black Eyed Susans)

Also sprinkle in between: Dill. Surprisingly this herb which can reseed like crazy, attracts the butterfly (I think called the black swallowtail) I was delighted one day when I spotted cute green caterpillars just munching away at the dill. My daughter & I captured one of these things and fed it more dill until it developed into a cocoon and turned into a butterfly. It was quite amazing to see.

Butterfly weed - which is an annual and which you could easily grow from seed.

• ravel30
    Original Author