Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
joyce75_gw

rose of sharon

joyce75
18 years ago

I absolutely love ROS but I am having so much trouble growing them. Everyone talks about how they grow like weeds and mine just die. What am I doing wrong? A friend gave me one in Oakville and it just never got any leaves. I bought 2 at a nursery last year and one now has leaves (halleluya!)but the other one is dead..I think. Only has brown sticks, no leaves. I am wondering if the bunny who lived under our deck all winter could have affected it.

Anyway, I am thinking of buying another one but need any advice before I go spend money again. Any special tips about growing them? Should I try to grow some from seed packets and at least if they don't grow I will be further ahead financially?

Would appreciate any comments etc.

Thanks in advance,

Joyce

Comments (33)

• Garden_Heaven
    18 years ago

I am also new to gardening, but I have had some luck with ROS in my Oakville backyard.

I had one in my front yard, with full sun, but no shelter and it did not make it through the first winter.

The two I have in the backyard are some what sheltered and are in full sun. They seem to love it.

It is quite possible the bunny got to them. I had planted a rose bush, and the bunny got to it this year. They even gnawed away at our deck to get under it!.

Happy Gardening.

• peatpod
    18 years ago

Joyce .. wait a little bit to remove it .. I have several and they dont always leaf out at the same time. My larger ROS is just starting to show signs of life this weeks .. so yours might not be dead
    Laura

• owbist
    18 years ago

Joyce if you are within easy reach of Grimsby and would like some seedlings I have them for the taking. They are about 2 inches high at this point in time. I potted up 18 myself today as at some future point they need to be out of there. These are the single purple Rose of Sharon. Email me if you wish.