Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
scraplolly

What to plant when

scraplolly
15 years ago

Hi!

I'm new to gardening. We've spent the summer, so far, taking out the stuff we don't want--now it is time to think about planting.

I understand I can plant perennials anytime--is that so? I'm beginning to think it's really getting a bit late...

Spring Bulbs are to be planted in the fall about a week or so before the first snow, right? I did plant some only a few hours before our first snow one year (and it didn't go away). They were a joy to see that following Spring!

And shrubs. When's the latest?

Just to give you an idea of the timing of our seasons, here --our first frost free date is usually around the May long weekend--and all outdoor construction usually ceases by the third week of October. (Leaves start turning in early September, usually they're all off the trees well before Halloween)

If there's no way for you to let me know (given that I am uneasy about giving out a more precise location)--what's the best way for me to find out?

Thanks!

Comments (7)

• marricgardens
    15 years ago

We plant all our trees and shrubs in the fall because it is cooler, usually fall is fairly wet and if you do it now, thing have a good root system before winter. Perennials, I plant in either spring or fall. I don't plant in summer because where we are the sun and wind are very intense at times, making planting then hard on the plants. If I had shade (I don't yet, my trees aren't growing fast enough!) then go I would go ahead and plant, making sure to keep things well watered. Hope this helps. About the only bulbs I grow are lilies and dahlias. I start them early inside and then plant them outside. Before planting them right in the garden, I harden them off first, putting outside in a sheltered spot for a few hours each day. Hope this helps. Marg

• jroot
    15 years ago