Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rcp109

Can this Cedar (?) be saved ?

rcp109
15 years ago

Our cedar (juniper?) was damaged by heavy snow (several heavy snows actually). It is now splayed open like a banana, with some branches worse than others.

a) if I use mesh or netting wrap, might it eventually resume its pyramidal form ?

b) if I have to replace it - any suggestions on what kind of tree this is (yes I'm a newbie)

* IF I canfigure out how to upload pics to this forum (yes I've read instructions) I will post images. thanks

Comments (4)

• jaro_in_montreal
    15 years ago

Sounds pretty hopeless.

For replacement suggestions, try the GW conifers forum, or better yet, the UBC Conifers Photo Gallery, accessible at the link below...
    The listing is alphabetical, so you need to go to pages starting with the letter 'T' for Thuja, or 'J' for Juniperus, and possibly 'P' for Platycladus....

Here is a link that might be useful: UBC Conifers Photo Gallery

• ianna
    15 years ago

Hello, A cedar isn't a juniper. If it's a cedar, it will regrow new branches - but slowly and it's branches are fairly flexible. If it's a juniper, it doesn't regrow branches so don't do any cuttings unless absolutely certain. I wish you can post a photo or provide descriptions to assist with identification.

If it's cedar, the most popular one available for tall hedging is the Emerald Cedar. Cedars produces mini conifers - much like a miniaturized pine cone. leaves are soft. Junipers have a more silvery and sharp prickly leaves and will produce greyblusih berries which appear like little pearls from afar. Not all juniper plants bear berries.