Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ihatesquirrels

will perenials live over the winter in pots in garage?

ihatesquirrels
15 years ago

Hi,

I live in south western ontario I don't know what zone that is.

I am new at container gardening and I have 5 perrenials ( Painted daisy,Purple cone flower,Black eyed susan and shasta daisies )that I planted 2 months ago in small pots.

My plan is to move them to larger permanent pots ( 13" diameter pots )and store them in my garage during winter.

Will my plan keep these plants alive in winter? or will they freeze die and never come back in spring? Do I water them during winter?

Please help me with any advise.

Thank you

Comments (4)

• greylady_gardener
    15 years ago

Well I am going to jump in here even though I am not an expert. :)
    Are you able to group your containers together in your yard and mound leaves or soil up around them? I think that even if you have them in your garage, you still might need some other protection like wrapping them in blankets and stuffing newspapers between the pots that are all grouped together for warmth. I hope someone who has actual experience with doing this will post. My only experience with leaving perennials in containers is two half barrels--one with a huge hosta and another with an annabelle hydrangea--both do well just sitting where I have them and they come through the winter just fine.
    gg (who is also in SW Ontario)--Z-6 (b I think)

• marricgardens
    15 years ago