Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gardengal106

Dappled Willow Tree Form??

Hello. Has anyone had any experience with this tree? How fast does it grow? Are the roots Invasive? Its health in general? Any info you feel that is important.

Thanks so much Judy

Comments (39)

• ianna
    14 years ago

The Hakuru Nikishi Willow is a well behaved plant. It's much more treated as a shrub than a tree. As far as health, I'm no expert but I haven't heard much problems associated with this tree.

Ianna

• hvaldez
    14 years ago

I planted a tree form of dappled willow a couple of years ago and it is thriving. I have it in full sun and only added fresh compost to the planting hole. I have had to cut off a couple of sucker starts on the lower trunk as the dapple willow is grafted onto the main trunk or something(read about about in other posts and this made sense because the new shoots had much different leaves). Its one of my favorite plants in the garden.

• dianasan
    13 years ago

I purchased a small, 12-inch dappled willow shrub at a nursery in September 08 which I proceeded to train as a standard or tree-form.

It's presently about 4 feet tall and I intend (hopefully) to train it to about 8 feet tall.

My next-door neighbor has 2 beautiful specimen (tree forms) which are about 12 feet tall. I thought they were slow-growing or had reached their full height because it seems they.ve been that tall for the past couple of years. However, while speaking with him the other week, he informed me that he prunes off about a foot or more each year so they won't get too tall.

Very beautiful trees.

• ianna
    13 years ago

dianasan, your information is very timely. A friend wanted to get one of these plants but she didn't want to buy the standards since these are grafted plants. I mentioned that these can be trained into trees from shrubs but I didn't know how long it would take to get there.