Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
halaeva

What disease is this?

halaeva
14 years ago

Every year my Eupatoriums Maculatum gets spots on leaves.

Is anyone familiar with this and wants to answer to the subject of my posting? Please.

Hala. {{gwi:536682}}

Comments (8)

• ontnative
    14 years ago

Sorry I don't know the answer, but I have plants with similar damage. I think it is some type of insect. So far I haven't done anything to treat for it such as insectidal soap, but it is rather ugly. Besides eupatorium, my verbena stricta exhibits this type of leaf damage.

• diggy500
    14 years ago

hello
    i'm no expert,but if i had to guess...i'd say a type of mold from being to damp....if it is only the bottom leafs...i would just snap them off....if it is all the leafs...i might move the plant to a drier area...
    again,i'm not an expert,but that is what i would think....
    good luck

• halaeva
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thank you ontnative,for your input.
    In my garden this is only one plant effected by such kind of disease.I do not treat it with anything yet.
    Hala.

• halaeva
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thank you diggy for your response.I also think this can be a mold,fungi,but I would like to be sure in order to treat it properly.
    Hala.

• oilpainter
    14 years ago

The circles around the spots tell me this is a fungal disease called leaf spot.

Pick off all infected leaves and distroy. Do not compost.
    The spores spread like with most fungal diseases by water splashing on leaves and carrying the spores with it to a new leaf, so try to avoid getting the leaves wet when you water.

Spray with a fungicide that is good for leaf spot--neem oil is one. You may have to repeat because the fungus is in the soil too.