Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dsleiper_gw

Newbie looking for help

dsleiper
17 years ago

Hi all;

This is my first year planting a garden, mostly perennials but I can't seem to find a souce for what to do with them to prepare for winter.... I have dahlias, lilies, shasta daisies etc. I hear some have to be removed from the ground but some not.

Any help you can offer would be great.

Thanks,

Dana

Comments (4)

• sydseeds
    17 years ago

Some of what you've mentioned can stay in the ground year round typically in most areas thru-out Canada, but others are dependant on being lifted and stored if you are in less tropical areas in Canada.

If you tell us your zone/where you are in Canada, and list what you've got - you'll get some of the best advice from the seasoned pro's that surf here not only on what to lift and store but how to do it correctly.

Cheers and welcome!

• tiffy_z5_6_can
    17 years ago

Dana,

Welcome to the forum! Great bunch here, and we can certainly help.

As Sydseeds says, just give us your zone, and what you've planted, and we'll be more than happy to help out!

• ianna
    17 years ago

Welcome. I enjoy a perennial garden too. It's provides a maximum show for such little effort. It does however require a bit of help in the first year but you will be rewarded grandly in the succeeding years.

Perennials as you know return yeear to year. Dahlias aren't classified as perennials because they won't survive winter in this zone (from 6- below). They, like cannas & begonnias require being dug up and stored over winter. So in a way, they are annuals. In warmer zones they can be classified as perennials.