Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mora_gw

Seaweed

mora
18 years ago

Last autumn I put a blanket of seaweed on all my beds and they loved it. I didn't rinse other than letting a couple of rains hit the pile before spreading, I have a feeling someone here might have a more scientific approach ! I wonder how much I can leave on in the spring without smothering anything !M

Comments (8)

• tiffy_z5_6_can
    18 years ago

Mora,
    I've been using seaweed in the gardens for a couple of years now, but discovered that generations of Acadians before me have been using the stuff for years!! On a visit home this summer, spent some time with a neighbour in her early nineties who still gardens. Her Dahlias were fabulous, and the other flowers in the gardens were amazing. She told me her secret was seaweed!!

She never rinses it either. Neither do I. I just apply it in the fall a couple of inches from the crowns of the plants, and then when things start to get really cool, I apply a mulch of chopped leaves or wood shavings. By spring, I find that most of it has 'disappeared' into oblivion, and just mulch with compost which has seaweed in it too. I get mine from our neighbours who have slips for their boats and small beaches which they want to rid of seaweed during the warm months.

It's full of potassium and micronutrients which are not found elsewhere. Sometimes I leave some in a bucket, and after a week make a tea for the plants or a foliar spray for the leaves.

You should find a few less slugs too! Won't make them disappear altogether, but they will die from the small amount of salt present when you lay it down.

Hope this helps!

• mora
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Thankyou Tiffy, from myself and a PEI gardener who E mailed on the subject( somehow I knew you would come through for us LOL ) M

• bonniepunch
    18 years ago