Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
northerner_on

Snake in Ottawa garden

northerner_on
13 years ago

Welcome August!! This morning the first thing I saw in my garden was a ground hog feasting himself on my Swiss Chard and as I ventured off the deck after that critter I spotted a snake, head protroding from my veggie garden into the grass. I stopped, grabbed my camera and got a shot, but of course he disappeared back into the vegetation. This is not a very good shot, but he seems to be black with a yellow belly. I have been scouring the Internet for a couple of hours trying to identify it. Can anyone tell me what it is and if it is venomous? I hate snakes and am afraid of them. I am not squeamish and will squish all matter of insects, earwigs and even slugs with my bare hands, but snakes are a different matter. I have been gardening in Ottawa for over 40 years, 27 in this location and I have never seen a snake. I would like it to go away - what has attracted it to my garden is a mystery, so an ID would be appreciated. Thank you.

Northerner.

{{gwi:537738}}

Comments (17)

• rosco_p
    13 years ago

Northener:I am not a snake expert by any means but your friend looks like a common Garter snake to me. Ross.

• oilpainter
    13 years ago

I agree with Ross, A garter snake. If I were you I'd encourage him to stick around. He was in your garden looking for bugs.

Garter snakes and toads are gardener's friends. They eat the nasty bugs that like to eat our produce.

• green_thumb_guy
    13 years ago

The only Venomous snake we have in Canada is the Massassauga Rattlesnake. It is endangered and it's range is more towards cottage country.

Don't worry.

:)

• DrHorticulture_
    13 years ago

Please don't fear snakes. He/she is just looking for a snack. Snakes are gardeners' friends.

• cactusmcharris, interior BC Z4/5
    13 years ago

GTG,

That statement is not fully correct - there's the Western Rattlesnake out here.