Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rcharles_gw

Adeniums in Canada - others that have them

I have been growing these remarkable plants for many years now and enjoy them so much.
Just curious as to whether their are others in Canada with these.

I do realize that there is a forum on these "Adeniums", but thought that possibly there are some not aware of it?
Rick

Comments (7)

• diane_v_44
    10 years ago

Hi Rick

I should have but didn't recognize the name of the plant. The proper name

Should have as I have a number of them growing, in pots, in my gardens down in Florida

I am though Canadian nd live in Barrie
    but have a place a number of years now, in Florida

Is interesting growing them down there

When I am there for five month I tidy up the pots the plants are in and give them extra water and a bit of fertilizer
    But when I am not there, they sit just out in mostly sun in their pots and manage just fine on their own with whatever rain water and conditions they get

Have not lost one of them

I did even go to a couple of specialized meetings and groups about them down there Boy some are very serious about growing these plants and they are producing all sorts of variations. I would think that here in the winter you would mostly not do anything with them Just keep them alive and in sun not to much water at all Is that what you would say as well

• rcharles_gw (Canada)
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Diane,
    Most of mine do not lose leaves, but they stop growing until the spring. Then I take outside for summer and they perform so nicely. The flowers last for weeks as you I am sure already know.
    Yes, many of the people are very strong in their approach with these Adeniums.
    I find that many people on Garden web do not necessarily individualize to a certain genus, so I thought I would make a posting just to see who in Canada might have them.
    Thanks for answering.
    Rick

• rosco_p
    10 years ago