Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
crystal_s_gw

Black Bugbane

crystal_s
13 years ago

Can anyone tell me if you can grow Black Bugbane (Cimicifuga simplex "Hillside Black Beauty") as a houseplant? I just picked one up at a big end-of-the-season sale and I love it. I'd like to keep it in the house until next spring since we're already getting freezing temperatures at night.

Does it need to go dormant or will it live indoors over the winter?

Thanks for any thoughts.

Crystal

Comments (8)

• sharont
    13 years ago

It's a hardy perennial Zone 3-9! Plant it now in moist retentive soil and a few hours of shade a day.
    They are lovely in bloom. Great purchase!

• crystal_s
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Thanks Sharon. :-)

So can it grow as a houseplant during the winter? I'm very new to gardening so I'm trying to figure out how to tell if a plant can stay active all year (in the right temperatures) or if it needs to freeze for part of the year. Are there any general rules might help me know?

Crystal

• coolplantsguy
    13 years ago

Most perennials will need a period of dormancy or "winter rest" to grow normally. If you're not able to plant as suggested, you could attempt to overwinter your pot in a minimally heated part of your house, e.g. the garage, but not in complete darkness.

• crystal_s
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Thanks. I might try that. We had -5 here last night so just don't know if the plant would be able to survive if transplanted in this weather.

Crystal

• ianna
    13 years ago

Crystals, these plants are hardy to -40C to -34C which is what zone 3 is about. In fact, the best time to transplant perennials is when the weather gets cool and the plant starts entering dormancy. Because the plant will not 'feel' it's being moved and just 'wake up' in a different spot.