Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ddobro2

Plants dying - Dollorama potting soil or something else?

ddobro2
11 years ago

Hello all,

I'm a newbie and I am seeking some opinions about the following scenario. In mid- to late- summer I acquired two pots of ground cherries, about 12 inches in height. They were both very healthy and producing ground cherries. I kept them on the windowsill here in Montreal where I live.

I then decided to transplant one of them into a larger pot to see how it would do. I used potting soil from Dollarama to do this. The new pot I put it in was too large and heavy to be safely kept on the windowsill so I put it on a bookshelf that is maybe 5 or 6 feet from a window that faces another apartment building and gets some light but not as much as the other two windows in the apartment (but does have the advantage of a desk directly in front of it on which plants can sit).

I also put a pot of Cuban oregano there. I was told that the Cuban oregano doesn't need to get that much light and does fine indoors in the winter. So I noticed that the groundcherry plant was wilting and having yellow leaves and the Cuban oregano (which was healthy before although leggy and leaning to one side) was getting a brown woody stem creeping up from the bottom and yellowing leaves. The Cuban oregano was not transplanted and had the original soil.