Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
taylan_gw

Know-how and know-whom help

taylan
16 years ago

Hey everyone,

I'm a MBA student in University of British Columbia. For a school project, my group is working on a business plan for a company that would specialize in the retail of sustainable balcony gardening supplies, such as the containers, tools, micro-irrigation, plants, seeds and all that.

And now I realize I do not know enough on the subject area, so I thought I could seek some advice here. Things I would like to know:

-Who are the major suppliers of plants and flowers in BC area?

-Who are the major producers of gardening supplies in BC area?

-What seasonal changes are to watch for in gardening business?

-What sort of facilities would be required to grow and store the plants?

-What sort of human resources would be needed to operate such facilities?

I would be very grateful if someone could help with enlightening my clueless self on the matter. My e-mail is . Feel free to send me an e-mail there if you would like to help.

Thanks in advance,

Taylan

Comments (3)

• lucy
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Hi, your project won't teach you much unless you really do the leg work yourself (though we can give you tips), plus some of your Q's require pretty extensive answers. You can research the first one by asking around, but very often the answers are closely guarded 'secrets' by selllers and you might run into a little resistance, plus often the answer is "in the U.S.", ditto for the second answer. Seasonal changes... that's something to discuss with nursery people. Facilities - greenhouses, acres of land, etc. DEPENDing on what you're growing, of course. People required are business-oriented types to actually run the practical aspects (as with any business), plus graduate horticulturists, plus students (great and fought-over summer jobs), plus some who are strong and fit - a lot of the work is heavy!

• ianna
    16 years ago