Return to the Canna Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
WANTED: Canna Lilly Web Pests

Posted by leshamilton1 TN (My Page) on
Tue, Jul 24, 07 at 16:31

This is my first year to try cannas. They have beautiful red blooms, but the leaves on my plants will not unfurl and whenever I unfurl them myself, there is a web like from a spider inside the leaf and small worms and a very messy interior. How do I get rid of these pests and what pesticide, if any, should I use. I have thought of cutting them completely down and letting them start over; however, figured someone else may have had the same problem and could help with this problem. I would appreciate any help, as in the FAQ section of the web page, it only tells about the problem, not what to do about it. Can someone help me?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: WANTED: Canna Lilly Web Pests

They are leaf rollers. Malatheon should do the trick. For me, they are worst in early spring when the plants are just getting started. I police the plants every evening. The worms are small and white, about 1/2" long. Once the plants get bigger the leaf rollers are'nt much of a problem for me.

o

For Southlatropical 9 - many thanks for your response. This is my first time to try cannas and I am not sure I will continue. At least now I know what the pests are and how to eliminate them; however, my plants are at least 4 1/2 to 5 1/2 feet high and I am still being bombarded by leaf rollers. Obviously here in Tennessee, they are much harder to control than in South Louisiana. By the way, I was born and raised in LA, near Lake Charles and DeRidder. Good to hear from you.

o

You can use trichogramma wasps (they don't sting us; they're microscopic) or BT, which is bacillus therengensis or something spelled sort of like that, if you don't want to use a toxin.

Hang in there;
cut off the misshapen leaves & let your cannas start over;
I bet there's still time for a new batch of leaves & maybe blooms this year.