Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
panspipes

Do I cut cannas back in Winter?

panspipes
12 years ago

I am new to Texas and I have brought my cannas down here with me from Michigan. Obviously, I don't have to dig them up anymore, thank God!

Anyway, Houston will usually get a good freeze that will kill all the foliage, but it might not happen this year, as it's getting warmer already.

More than half of the leaves are still green and healthy. There are even flowers still!

Normally I would just cut them all back, but the 3 or 4 tubers I brought down here 3 years ago have become probably close to 200. What can I say, they like Houston.

So I don't want to go to that much trouble if I don't need to.

On the other hand, last Summer Houston had the the worst drought in recorded history. (over 100 years) Even with my vigilant watering and Miracle Gro they all topped out about 2-3 feet shorter than they should have been.

If I don't cut them back, will they stay stunted?

Comments (6)

• canna2grow
    12 years ago

Like much of the Gulf state growing area as well as Southern California cannas need not be lifted or offered much in the way of freeze protection. BUT cannas in these areas do need to be severely thinned out. The wonderfully abundant growing conditions produce abundant rhizome growth that severely overcrowds the available nutrients and sun requirements. Depending on the growing needs available, the plants ultimately become very tall and scraggly or very stunted. Bloom production becomes severely limited.
    Simply cutting back the foliage will not solve the problem.
    The major difference between growing cannas in the Deep South or the Far North is if we should lift and protect or lift and divide. You at least do not have to freeze to death getting it done.

Kent

• panspipes
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Thanks Kent. Yeah, it didn't take long to notice how fast they multiply down here! It's wonderful.