Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
peaches20

Another seed question

peaches20
16 years ago

Hi all,

I've gotta dumb question. My seeds are soaking in water and there's a bit of white growth. I'm assuming this is the root and will put in soil root down.

Thanks for the help. As you can tell this is my first time trying the canna seed.

Thanks,

Peaches

Comments (5)

• weirdtrev
    16 years ago

I always plant that white protrusion pointing up just because I fear it is delicate and don't want to risk breaking it. I believe the white structure actually differentiates into both the root and shoot. I have never had any problems they always grow fine.

Once I did wonder what would happen if I planted that white part down and that seed grew fine as well so it would seem that the plant has no problem growing in the correct direction.

• billy_kain
    16 years ago

Not trying to hijack your thread, Peaches20, but I have some confusion about canna seed, as well.

I have a lot of seed to experiment with (from an unknown canna that made seed like crazy), and have noticed a difference in the way it reacts.

I nicked each seed, and put it in warm water. Some germinated within a day or two. one or two waited a week or more, and some are still just sitting in the water.

My question is, what would a real canna grower do? Are the seeds that have not germinated, no good? Should I just plant them, and hope for the best? Should they be thrown out?
    Did I do something to cause this situation?

Thanks for any suggestions,
    John

• peaches20
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Hi all,

Now I'm wondering if I should turn my seeds to white stem (root) up?

Any help will be appreciated.

• billy_kain
    16 years ago

Peaches20,

From the experiments I have tried, I don't really think it matters which way the "rootlet" is pointed, as long as it is not broken or damaged.