Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bexzdopey

What went wrong

bexzdopey
18 years ago

I love cannas. I am fairly new to gardening much less canna gardening. Last year I bought some Tropicana Cannas from home depot. I brought them home, planted watered and fed them and within days they looked awful, leaves turned brown and falling off. I tried and tried to keep them alive but they all died. I also bought some canna seeds on ebay and none of them made it either. What went wrong? I live in North West Arizona. It is hot here but I see other people are able to grow cannas. I would like to try again this year. Do you suggest, rhizomes, seeds or already growing plants? Thanks in advance.

Comments (4)

• sylviatexas1
    18 years ago

If the rhizomes were healthy & plump when you got them, the fertilizer may have burned them.

You might ask your county's Agricultural Extension Agent, or a Master Gardener, or a local organic garden club, what to do to make cannas happy in your area.

By all means, though, do try again.

Cannas give you a lot of enjoyment for very little expense & very little effort.

• jenna1
    18 years ago

I'm curious as to when you purchased and planted your Trops. If it was late in the growing season then they may have just gone dormant. If you didn't dig them up, maybe they'll surprise you and come back up this Spring.

Like Silva said, it's very possible that you may have damaged/killed them by over fertilizing. Cannas can take alot of fertilizer, however, when something comes from a grower to a distributor, they usually are well fertilized by the time you get them. This helps them to look their best so that people will purchase them. Personally I rarely fertilize my cannas. I do toss a handful of granular fertilizer around the bases of my cannas and water it in during the Spring. Other than tossing compost over the soil, that's all that I do.