Return to the Canna Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
cannas are trying to escape

Posted by v1rtu0s1ty Zone 5a, Northern IL (My Page) on
Sat, Apr 24, 10 at 3:45

hahaha!!! :)

I've got a 32g bucket. I put the rhizomes last year around late September. Then I put some peat moss, saw dust, etc. I covered it with a huge black trash can bag. Lastly, I put the bucket in the darkest corner of my basement. Today, the trash can bag is upright. LOL. The stems are also exposed. :)

Anyways, it's my first time to see this. When I plant it out, do I cut all the stems? The stems are pale green.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: cannas are trying to escape

You need to plant them very soon or they will die, as they have sprouted.

o

I don't think you have to cut out the stems before planting. I would not do that. I have similar issues with plants in baggies that sprout. Just plant with the stems as soon as possible. The stems will green up once you put them outside. I forgot to say this earlier.

o

Oh no, I just saw your message. It's had the stem for almost 3weeks now or more. It's about 4 ft tall but still covered with the trash can bag.

Ok, I won't cut and I will plant it once I get home tomorrow from work. I'll take a pic too! :)

o
correction

Trash plastic bag not the can :)

o

Saw them tonight and all the stems were down. I'll plant them tomorrow.

Oh, I forgot that I have 5 other bags that contain cannas. All had shoots!

Here they are.

o

I was able to plant at least 8 rhizomes this evening! :)

Maybe 40 more to go! LOL!

o