Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mrs_tlc_gw

Want to start growing cannas

mrs_tlc
15 years ago

Hi All. This is my first time posting here. I saw something a couple of years ago on a local gardening show about Tropicannas and thought they were so beautiful but at that time life didn't allow me any time to do any gardening. Now however, things have changed and me & my new DH are re-landscaping and I would love to start growing all types of Cannas.

I live in SW FL. Please give me advice on

1. which ones would be best for a newbie to start with.

2. where is the best place to find different varieties. We looked at Lowes and they only had one variety. Very pretty though!

3. Watering, feeding, etc.

4. Should I have a separate Canna bed or just intermingle them in the rest of the landscaping?

I would love to see pics of how you have yours planted. Especially Floridians.

Thank you!

Comments (3)

• rsangel64
    15 years ago

I am interested in this also. Someone just gave me about 10 cannas which I have to go pick up shortly. I will post pics soon.

• weirdtrev
    15 years ago

Lowes had only one variety?? If that is true then you must have just missed them all. The Lowes by me (in MD) have probably around 10 varieties, they are just tubers in bags with pictures. They would be with spring bulbs if they still have any left. You can usually find many different varieties in bags with the spring bulbs at various stores. Since you are in FL maybe all your spring bulbs are long gone and you may have to wait until next year to get a good selection, unless you get them mail order. If you are looking for plants that are growing then you are right Lowes only ever has one or two varieties. And that is true for all garden centers (by me at least). I never see more than a few varieties available as potted plants.

Also you guys should read the FAQ section of the canna forum, there is a lot of good info there.

• nightrider767
    15 years ago