Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hzdeleted_19697995

Id for Canna please and a few Q's

User
18 years ago

Hi, I have 2 types of Canna lilies. This is my first time growing these. Can anyone ID these for me? Also, one is flowering already and I am wondering if I can collect seeds from it since its a young plant? If so, please tell me how I can collect the seeds.

Both of them have red flowers.

{{gwi:532704}}

{{gwi:532705}}

Comments (7)

• User
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Also, I have 3 of the second canna spaced about 2 feet apart from each other and the first canna flanks those 3 on either side. Would this be ok? I wanted to have a mixture of foliage.

• weatherguy
    18 years ago

I don't know what they are but that spacing in fine.

• jaceysgranny
    18 years ago

I noticed that you have your 1st one staked. It really isn't necessary to stake cannas. They will stand on their own.

Nancy

• sylviatexas1
    18 years ago

I've heard that cannas can be grown from seed, but that the resulting plants won't necessarily be the same as the parent plant.

You take the black seeds out of the dried seedpod, crack them, & put them in water.

However, *I* never was able to get them to grow from seed:
    All I got was slimey water, & I had to pour hot water over the seeds to crack them (which broke a lot of them completely apart.)

Now for the good news:

In your climate, you don't *need* to grow them from seed:
    Here in Texas & all over the southern US, they spread via rhizome increase, & your climate is even better for them than ours.

Next year, you'll have more, & then even more the following year, & then...

Best luck, & enjoy!

sylvia

• User
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Thanks for your replies! Jaceysgranny, I took out the stakes. It was a little windy just after I planted them so I didn't want them to move around.