Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cannacrazy

Bengals and Tropicanas

cannacrazy
15 years ago

Some years ago, I unwittingly planted 4-6 cannas in my front yard. Suffice it to say, I now have cannas everywhere! I've grown to love them very much and have started adding some new varieties like Bengal Tigers and Tropicanas. The Bengals just don't seem to grow as well though. Am I missing something? Also, I'd love it if anyone is interested in trading. I'm thinking my original cannas may be Presidents? The originals are deep red with green leaves, about 3-ft tall. As they have spread, many of the flowers are now more of an orange-red. Can anybody tell me for sure?

Comments (10)

• fivemurfs
    15 years ago

Like you, I have acquired a taste for cannas over the years because no matter how I neglected them they just wouldn't go away. I'm no expert, but the cannas you describe sound the same as the ones I planted from bare roots from a friend who called them "President." Last year, which was their second, they were more deep orange than red. Do the flowers arch over when they bloom? Maybe mine may do this because they don't get full sun.

I have some Bengal Tigers that grow very well and come back every year in multiples, but not so much as to annoy me too badly. Do you water yours? Mine love to be ignored.

I love the Tropicana's that I see in the nurseries around town, but they are so pricey! Even though I have grown to love Canna Lilies, I can't make myself pay money for them!

• cannacrazy
    Original Author
    15 years ago